VIDEO: Challenges of Getting to Mars: Curiosity’s Seven Minutes of Terror

I love this video. It is the most quintessentially American thing I have seen in quite a while.

There is a sense of possibility and promise within the video of the ability to solve monumental problems that has been missing from the public perception of NASA and the space program for some time.

My sister sent this to me and I love it.

I love that we still have people at NASA and the JPL that are working on problems like this. I hope they succeed. American’s want us to have a presence in space. Whether that presence is funded by tax dollars, or private money or some partnership we need to reignite the space race, and push America to think big again.

 

We need Curiosity, and so do our children.

Here is Kennedy’s speech at Rice University, where he lays out why the United States must have a place of preeminence in space. It is a fantastic speech and I encourage you to watch it all and then think, would a Democrat President give such a speech today?

How far we have come, and how far we have to go.

To Mars, and back.

Curiosity beckons us on.

I think we should follow.

Leave a Reply

